In the workshop we used Inkscape, a free design software to create a computer generated drawing of a Japanese Kokeshi doll. Very similarly to Adobe’s illustrator software, I used the ellipse and rectangle tools to create basic shapes. I then used the “node” tool to manipulate the individual anchor points to create my desired shape. I then used the “fill and stroke” menus to add colour to my design.

The reason why we used both Illustrator and Inkscape was to decide which software I would use in order to create my poster. Having played around with both, I feel that Inkscape would be my software of choice for this particular assignment, as it is free. so I can work on my project with my own computer without having to pay a charge, but also I personally find the software a lot easier to use than Illustrator. 

Leave a Reply

